About Dumfriesshire

The Dumfriesshire constituency covers the Eastern half of the Dumfries and Galloway Council area. It is a largely rural seat but also takes in a considerable part of Dumfries town following the river Nith both upstream along the A76 and downstream to the Solway Firth. Running through the heart of the constituency is Scotland's main motorway link with England, the A74(M) and the A75 which connects Gretna with Stranraer. 

Agriculture, tourism, and forestry are important local industries alongside food processing, engineering and some large scale manufacturing.

During the summer months communities across the constituency mark local festivals including common ridings, galas and agricultural shows.

Notable former residents from the Dumfriesshire area include; Thomas Telford, Lord Dowding, Alexander Anderson, J M Barrie, Thomas Carlyle, Robert Burns, David Coulthard, Jane Haining, Rev Henry Duncan, Calvin Harris and Robert the Bruce. 

The main towns and settlements in the Dumfriesshire Scottish Parliament constituency include; 
Eskdalemuir, Bentpath, Ewes, Langholm, Gilnockie, Harelaw, Rowanburn, Canonbie, Evertown, Closeburn, Penpont, Tynron, Keir, Thornhill, Durisdeer, Carronbridge, Kirkconnel, Kelloholm, Sanquhar, Wanlockhead, Hightae, Dalton, Carrutherstown, Cummertrees, Powfoot, Brydekirk, Creca, Annan, Kettleholm, Lockerbie, Kirkmichael, Tinwald, Torthorwald, Collin, Mouswald, Clarencefield, Bankend, Glencaple, Kingholm Quay, Noblehill, Beattock, Ecclefechan, Eaglesfield, Kirkpatrick Fleming, Chapelknowe, Gretna, Gretna Green, Rigg, Eastriggs, Waterbeck, Middlebie, Tundergarth, Corrie, Boreland, Applegarth, Lochmaben, Templand, Johnstonebridge, Wamphray, Moffat, Kirkton, Duncow, Auldgirth, Moniaive, Dunscore, Holywood, Locharbriggs, Heathhall, Georgetown and Dumfries town centre.